Racing Post trio listed for prestigious Derby awards

Teaser Holding Flat

Racing Post’s Jon Lees, Nicholas Godfrey and Edward Whitaker nominated

THE Racing Post is represented on the shortlists for three of the four categories at next month’s Horserace Writers and Photographers Association Derby Awards, which for the first time will be backed by the Qatar Racing Equestrian Club.

The trio includes Jon Lees and Nicholas Godfrey, who are reporting from the Breeders’ Cup this weekend, whilst Edward Whitaker will be chasing a sixth title in the Racing Photographer of the Year category.

Godfrey bids to succeed Brough Scott, Lee Mottershead and Alastair Down, the three most recent recipients of the Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year with Lees one of four candidates for the John Oaksey Trophy, given to the Racing Reporter of the Year.

Announcing a three-year commitment to the Derby Awards by the QREC, HWPA president Steven Cargill said: “This association with the Qatar Racing Equestrian Club is fantastic for us and it is marvellous that [QREC chairman] Sheikh Mohamed Al Thani believes that the HWPA awards are the perfect way to spread Qatar’s message.”

The QREC is most widely known for its sponsorship of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe but is an active backer of the sport in Britain.

“We are delighted to support this event, which recognises outstanding achievement in many areas,” said Sheikh Mohammed Al Thani.

The awards will be presented on December 2 at the Lancaster London Hotel, with Spinal Research and the Spinal Injuries Association once again set to benefit.

Picture of the Year: Mark Cranham, Alan Crowhurst, Julian Herbert, Louise Pollard

Photographer of the Year: Alan Crowhurst, Julian Herbert, Hugh Routledge, Edward Whitaker

Reporter of the Year: Jon Lees, Chris McGrath, JA McGrath, Tom Peacock

Writer of the Year: Nicholas Godfrey, Chris McGrath, Lissa Oliver, Greg Wood


User comment


var $facebookBlock = $(‘#facebook’);
if ($facebookBlock.length){
$facebookBlock.attr(‘allowTransparency’, true);

Leave a Reply